Displaced Geek

Just a city geek and father coming to terms with being replanted in farm country

The memory of a child…

Or, Why you shouldn’t make promises you don’t intend (or want) to keep.

The other day Gabriella and I went hiking in Wolf’s Hollow County Park, just a short ride from home.
We were given a Trail Tech backpack that has proven invaluable for this kind of thing, and because of that we’ve gone several times since the weather’s gotten warmer. I like getting some outdoor exercise, she likes to run around in fields, and let’s face it, I like being able to have her get all worn out!

Until this last trip, we had a fairly regular routine. Basically we load up, walk the shortest trail, stopping roughly halfway to eat our lunch/snack at a clearing by a stream, finish the trail, and then she gets to run around while I take a breather because I just carried a wiggly, noisy halfling 1.4 miles over all sorts of terrain. It’s a good routine because it works.

Previous to this most recent trip Gabriella wanted a change of pace. She wanted to go on the red trail, which diverges from our nice short blue trail about 2 minutes after our lunch spot. The problem with this is that it basically would have added another mile to our trip and done so over steeper terrain only to double back and join up with the end of the same blue trail we always take. I foolishly dismissed her with a “next time, honey” and we continued on our way.

I’m fairly sure the more intelligent readers will see where this is going. After our lunch break Gabriella wanted to walk the trail instead of getting in the backpack. In my foolishness I agreed, and she proceeded to take the shortest possible route to that red trail. While I halfheartedly attempted to dissuade her, it was plain she wasn’t going to hear it. I said we could do it next time and it was next time.

Needless to say, we had quite the trip and were gone for several hours longer than I had intended. But she got to take the trail she wanted, got exercise in the process, and I learned a lesson.

All in all it was a good trip.

Written by Peter

June 28, 2011 at 2149

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good Girl Gabriella! It was a teachable moment and you taught your Daddy his lesson!

    Mom

    June 30, 2011 at 937

    • Indeed.

      Peter

      June 30, 2011 at 1404


Comments are closed.

