Displaced Geek

Just a city geek and father coming to terms with being replanted in farm country

DG on Krebs (on Security)

As I was cleaning up a machine today, I was reminded of a Krebs on Security post from a few months ago, that did an excellent post distilling the basics of online security into three simple rules. For those of you too lazy to click that link and actually read the article, I’ll save you the trouble:

  1. “If you didn’t go looking for it, don’t install it!”
  2. “If you installed it, update it.”
  3. “If you no longer need it, remove it.”

I cannot tell you how many boxes I’ve fixed that wouldn’t have needed fixing in the first place if these three very simple rules had been followed.

Written by Peter

July 23, 2011 at 1526

Posted in geek

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah Kiddo, thanks for the update reminder! Hah!!

    Mom

    July 24, 2011 at 746


Comments are closed.

