Displaced Geek

Just a city geek and father coming to terms with being replanted in farm country

Be yourself By Yourself

I know it shouldn’t, but it always amazes me when complete strangers make ridiculous assumptions, and then act on them.

I mean, do I look like a ridiculous misogynist? In a checkout line being worked by a woman, filled mostly with women, this guy behind me peppered every sentence with “just like a woman” and “pshaw, women, right?” The best, if you can call it that, was when he said “I bet she can’t drive either” in reference to the lady in front of me changing her mind about one of her items.

No, there was no headset. He had been talking to me earlier in line when he was telling me about his grandson’s mother. This also involved a lot of ridiculous misogyny. Apparently the child’s mother and doctor don’t know as well as this guy.

I guess he probably didn’t care if I shared his “viewpoint” or not as much as he just wanted to express it and didn’t care what anyone else thought.

Honestly, what is wrong with people?

Written by Peter

August 6, 2011 at 1701

Posted in daily grind

Tagged with

