Displaced Geek

Just a city geek and father coming to terms with being replanted in farm country

This is what I’m sayin’

I just stumbled on a blog post I just had to share. Tiffany Lim puts very concisely something I often feel, but can never quite articulate.

The desire to be green is a respectable impulse, but somehow, as in so many other aspects of our society, the standard bearers for the movement are off-putting in their zealousness. This post gives some evidence that shows it’s not just in my head.

Now I’m not saying we should all paint our houses with lead, drive SUVs to the corner store, and send our empty plastic bottles in the incinerator. I’ll do my part to help with the local drought watch, and use rainwater to water the garden. But don’t get all high and mighty if my shoes aren’t made out of recycled tires, because your second house probably runs 3 window air conditioners, even when you’re not at home.

Written by Peter

August 11, 2011 at 1509

Posted in musings

Tagged with ,

