Displaced Geek

Just a city geek and father coming to terms with being replanted in farm country

Curioser and Curioser

This may seem odd, coming after a nearly week long unofficial hiatus, nevertheless… I find it interesting the degree to which my amateur blogging has altered my daily thought process after just a few short months.

I’m sure it comes as no surprise to those of you who write for a living, but the difference in the length of my trains of thought is astounding. I’ve yet to decide if it’s a good thing, but it’s certainly interesting. As those of you who know me personally can attest to, my thought process is just scary. While I make connections easily between things that appear completely random, as a result I often miss the simpler, more common connections that I’m supposed to be making. Basically the assumptions that we as a society make when communicating with one another are not the same assumptions that I generally make right out of the gate. I know it’s no cure, but I’m beginning to wonder if writing in general isn’t some sort of treatment for N.A.D.D..

This post has been Gabriella Approved.

I also feel like stopping and seeing exactly how things stand ‘right now’, before I do something. Looking at the chaos of a messy room before cleaning it, mise en place prior to making a meal, things like that. I’ve always appreciated in others the ability to do just that, but somehow until now I never really derived any benefit from it myself.

Random thoughts throughout the day get filed away for possible discussion later on, and notepads are being used more frequently in our house, as I write down, well ‘thought fragments’ is even too generous, let’s go with ‘trigger words’ to inspire thoughts later on when I have the time.

In short, I fell down a rabbit hole I didn’t know existed, and I’m well on my way to being pleased with the results.

Written by Peter

August 24, 2011 at 2103

Posted in musings

Tagged with

