Displaced Geek

Just a city geek and father coming to terms with being replanted in farm country

Toddler Sick Day Fun

So the other night Gabriella informed us that her tummy hurt.

Coupled with her behavior and some other evidence unsuitable for readers with weak stomachs, it seemed a bug of some sort was upon us. Consequently, Friday was a bit of a sickday around the house. Lots of snuggling on the sofa watching old Disney movies, and things like that.

But there’s only so much musical animation one can take at a time, so we decided on doing a few “projects”.

Unfortunately I didn’t count on her “tummy bubbles” shortening her attention span so much. After several failed attempts at crafts pulled from our veritable library of kids craft books, Gabriella agreed to simply help me do a “daddy project”. Limoncello!


Now I like limoncello. A lot, in fact. And this isn’t my first shot at making it, but I’m saddened to say that thus far the art of making this seemingly simple golden deliciousness has eluded me.

Whether it was simply too much pith included in the zest, as my wife seems to think, or something a bit more indefinable, it was not a pleasing drink. This time I started out by reading up over at LimoncelloQuest, and taking a trip to the cheap vodka section of the liquor store.

Now, before you say it, I’m well aware of the old adage “garbage in, garbage out”, and I fully expect this stuff to have a bit of a bite to it. But after successfully raising up some cheap brandy to a level I was pleased with by simply infusing some spiced peaches, I figured it was worth the risk.

Step 1 of my volume adjusted recipe:

  • 790ml vodka
  • zest of 9 lemons

Put ingredients in airtight glass container and infuse 45 days, shaking frequently.

Lemon Booze!

Lemon Booze is pretty!

Once the zest has sufficiently infused, I’ll add a simple syrup and let it mellow for another 2 months or so.
Which, if my math is right, means that right at the beginning of June, we should have some lemony golden deliciousness.

Oh, and we made lemonade from the lemons, but we were so busy drinking it, I didn’t take any pictures.

Written by Peter

February 23, 2013 at 1400

Posted in parenting

Tagged with , , , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Can’t wait to try it! Yummmmm!!

    Mom

    February 25, 2013 at 854


Comments are closed.

